One in Four…

Raising awareness about issues related to domestic & dating violence

Volunteer Spotlight: Tora Taylor Glover December 1, 2011

Filed under: volunteering — Elizabeth Johnson @ 11:11 am

With Thanksgiving having just passed, all of us at FVPC are thankful for the continued support of our community and most importantly the hard work of our volunteers. FVPC provides numerous invaluable services to residents of Orange County, NC. Services include but are not limited to a 24 hour crisis hotline, support groups, childcare, safety planning and legal advocacy. With limited staff members we rely heavily on the energy and dedication of our volunteers.  This month we are highlighting Tora Taylor Glover and the great work she does for us. 

How long have you been volunteering?
I have been volunteering as an Overnight Hotline Advocate since 2009.  I continued this role until 2010 when I became a Social Work intern.  Since the completion of my internship, I still volunteer with the agency, usually as a Staff Backup to other Overnight Hotline Advocates.

How did you learn about FVPC?

I learned about FVPC through an email I received from the Women’s Center.  I had been looking for a place to volunteer with flexibility since I was taking classes and working full time.  At the bottom of the page, I saw the training announcement for FVPC and decided to complete an application.  Since I was planning to pursue my MSW, I wanted to gain more experience in working directly with clients and truly feel like I was making a difference.  FVPC fulfilled all those needs and more!

Why do you volunteer?

I volunteer because I truly believe in the services the agency provides.  Domestic Violence and other types of interpersonal conflicts continue to occur at alarming rates within the community.  Without agencies like FVPC, many of those affected would not have the support needed to find resources that could possibly help their situations.  These service are valuable.  Most of all, I volunteer because I believe it is my duty to give back to the community and those in need.

What have you learned about yourself or others by volunteering here?
I have learned many lessons about myself volunteering at FVPC, but none more important than realizing that even though I am one person, I can make a small difference in someone’s life through just providing support.  Many times clients just need someone to listen to them and validate what they are going through.  Knowing that I have the skills to provide support through active listening has confirmed for me that working in social work is where I belong.

In regards to others, I have learned that DV and other types of interpersonal conflict affects everyone.  It does not have a race, class, gender, or religion.  It can happen to anyone, whether they are a victim/survivor themselves or through knowing someone that is a victim/survivor.

What happens next for you?

I graduate with my MSW in May 2012. After graduation, I plan to gain employment in the human services field and start working towards obtaining my License in Clinical Social Work (LCSW).

What would you tell prospective volunteers?
I would tell prospective volunteers to be aware of any personal biases they have surrounding the population so those biases do not interfere in their work with clients.  Continue to gain education on the population and ask questions.  Most importantly, take care of themselves as they work with clients.  They will not be helpful to clients if they are not practicing good self care.

Thank You for all you do, Tora!

 

Leave a Reply

