One in Four…

Raising awareness about issues related to domestic & dating violence

Volunteer Spotlight: Kristin Mastro February 23, 2011

Filed under: volunteering — Women's Studies Intern @ 2:15 am
Tags: , ,

We at FVPC would like to reiterate our appreciation for our volunteers. With only three full time staff members the work of our volunteers is critical for the ongoing operation of FVPC. This month we would like to focus on one of our long term overnight hotline volunteers, Kristin Mastro.

Q. How long have you been volunteering?

A. “I began my volunteer training in the fall of 2008 and started working directly with clients in December of that year.”

Q. How did you learn about FVPC?

A. “I learned about FVPC through a coworker.  She had gone through volunteer training in the spring and discussed how rewarding her volunteer work was.”

Q.  Why do you volunteer?

A.I volunteer because I know that the people who call our hotline are reaching out to us because they don’t have anywhere else to turn.  I could be the one person they contact that marks the beginning of a change in a positive direction for them.  This is a large part of why I decided to pursue a career in counseling.  I am currently a graduate student getting my masters degree in mental health counseling.  My experiences at FVPC are a big part of my decision to go back to school.”

Q. What have you learned (about yourself or others) by volunteering here?

A. “I have learned that people have tremendous capacity to survive horrible things.  I have also learned that I have the ability to take some pain away from others and help them begin to heal from devastating emotional wounds.”

Q. What happens next for you (after graduation)?

A. “I’m not certain what’s next for me after graduation.  I plan on continuing to volunteer at FVPC through the remainder of my schooling.  I am trying to decide if I want to get right to work after graduating, or pursue my PhD.  I have plenty of time to decide!”

Q. What would you tell prospective volunteers?

A. “Being a volunteer is hard, but extremely rewarding.  Being a volunteer has made me appreciate (even more) how fortunate I am in my significant relationships.  Domestic violence touches so many people.  If you are willing to put yourself out there to help others, you will benefit from it.”

Thanks Kristin!

As we recognize Kristin Mastro we would also like to welcome the seventeen wonderful individuals who are in the process of completing their volunteer training now. We look forward to working with you and appreciate you taking this step with us.

 

Leave a Reply

