One in Four…

Raising awareness about issues related to domestic & dating violence

Volunteer Spotlight: Hampton Neal! November 4, 2010

Filed under: Allies,volunteering — Women's Studies Intern @ 2:26 pm

At FVPC we provide a variety of different sources to all of Orange County to help prevent domestic violence.  With only four full time staff members we rely a great deal on help from our incredible volunteers to assist with hotline shifts, community education, and child care.  This month we are focusing on one of our long time volunteers Hampton Neal to hear about his experience volunteering at FVPC-

How long have you been volunteering?

“I have been volunteering as a daytime hotline advocate for nearly three years, since the 2008 winter training.

How did you learn about FVPC?

“I was in a service-learning course my first year at UNC, and FVPC was my top choice for placement because of the involvement of its volunteers and importance of its work.”

Why do you volunteer?

“I began volunteering for a class requirement, but also because I had been looking for a consistent way to make a difference in my new community of Chapel Hill.  I have since developed a strong passion for women’s issues, and FVPC is an important way for me to engage in, learn about, and offer support in a difficult part of many women’s (and men’s) lives.

What have you learned (about yourself or others) by volunteering here?

“I have learned that empowerment does not look the same for everyone, and it may at times be a difficult process, but being a support for someone in a time of need can be one of the most fulfilling experiences one can have.  I have seen, face to face, the courage and perseverance of people through very difficult situations; and it has taught me that there is nothing that I cannot face!

What happens next for you (after graduation)?

“As a Women’s Studies major and Social and Economic Justice minor, I plan on working with women’s empowerment non-profits or NGO projects that are internationally focused.  I am applying to the Peace Corps, and will soon begin looking at other opportunities (both abroad and in the US) to best begin channeling my passions for equality, education and peace.”

Thanks so much for all the work you do Hampton!

 

Leave a Reply

